//ABTA welcomes FCDO lifting of advice

ABTA welcomes FCDO lifting of advice

The UK’s Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office (FCDO) has lifted advice against non-essential travel due to Covid-19, for 32 destinations around the world.

On October 6, the FCDO confirmed that it will no longer advise against travel to non-red list countries based on Covid-19 risks – except for in ‘exceptional circumstances’ (such as the local healthcare system being overwhelmed).

This means that it will be easier for travellers to those 32 countries and territories – including Bangladesh, Fiji, Gambia, Ghana and Malaysia – to obtain travel insurance. Many insurance companies use FCDO travel advice as the basis of their policies, excluding cover for countries where the government advises against all but essential travel.

The news comes during the same week that the rules for entering the UK have been simplified, with the traffic light system being scrapped. FCDO advice against travel is expected to be lifted for more destinations in the coming days.

An ABTA spokesperson said: “We welcome the news that the Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office has lifted its advice against ‘all but essential travel’ due to COVID risks for 32 countries and territories.

“Given the UK’s successful vaccine rollout, we have been calling for the Foreign Office to replace the general use of FCDO advice against travel due to COVID risks with clear, country specific advice so travellers can make an informed choice based on their own circumstances. It is good to see them respond to these calls today and we would welcome further countries’ restrictions being lifted.

“This news follows the introduction of a simplified system for international travel and reduced testing requirements for fully vaccinated holidaymakers this week, so we hope this marks a continuation of international travel becoming easier and more affordable so the sector can begin its journey to recovery.”

Foreign Secretary Liz Truss said: “These rule tweaks will make travelling more straightforward, supporting businesses and families right across Britain – and allow more of us to see friends and loved ones with greater peace of mind.”

Here’s the full list of countries to which the FCDO no longer advises against travel:

  1. Algeria
  2. America Samoa
  3. Armenia
  4. Bangladesh
  5. Belarus
  6. Benin
  7. Comoros
  8. Congo
  9. Djibouti
  10. Equatorial Guinea
  11. Fiji
  12. French Polynesia
  13. Gambia
  14. Ghana
  15. Guinea
  16. Kazakhstan
  17. Kiribati
  18. Kosovo
  19. Liberia
  20. Madagascar
  21. Malaysia
  22. Marshall Islands
  23. Micronesia
  24. Nauru
  25. Sao Tome and Príncipe
  26. Senegal
  27. Solomon Islands
  28. Togo
  29. Tokelau & Niue
  30. Tonga
  31. Tuvalu
  32. Vanuatu